ChezShea

a journey to making those hand crafted creations

In lust with quilting 1 November 2013

Filed under: Quilting — chezshea @ 12:14 pm
Tags:

I can’t explain how my on again, off again relationship with quilting became so suddenly on again. Quilting was that old flame that I felt like I had to love because I was surrounded by it growing up (my mom was a professional quilter for a time). I knew a lot about it, but there was always someone else to love, like scrapbooking, cross stitching, and, most recently, knitting. But recently, something changed. I blame Pinterest completely.

I came across this pin, and was instantly smitten. I knew it would look fabulous done up as a queen sized quilt and started dreaming about it sprawled out on our bed. Never one to be scared off by something perceivably out of my league, I quickly broke out my colored pencils and graph paper and put together a plan for this future perfect quilt. I then made my way to Joann’s and bought my fabric. There was no sense in delaying the inevitable!

image

So that pin led me to this wonderful tutorial from Better Off Thread, and after ironing up my fabric I got right down to it. I was quick to get the strips cut and sewn, but I have to admit, it took a while to figure out how to line up the colors in my strips so the diamond would come together properly.

Somehow my brain thought that I would have to cut all of the diamonds individually and then spend a lifetime sewing them all together. Using the strip method was easier than I could have ever imagined.

image

Next came the part that I imagine makes everyone sweat a bit. I had to cut all of those strips perfectly on the bias to “make” the diamonds. This is definitely where patience becomes a virtue. Measure twice and cut once and all that jazz. I was never so pleased to finish cutting fabric in my life, and thankfully everything turned out just as they were meant to be.

image

And then came the near epic fail. You’d think sewing the diamond strips to each other would be a breeze. Just line up the seams, right? Well, sort of. After one failed join, I realized to get the seams to line up, I had to measure my 1/4″ seam from the edge down to the seam on one strip, repeat for the other, then pin. In other words, the seams weren’t supposed to meet at the very edge, but 1/4″ down the fabric. I hope that makes sense!

image

The worst was officially over, and it was time for a few days of a break before putting the whole star together. I’ll be sure to share all of that fun in the next post. Until then, happy crafting!

 

One Response to “In lust with quilting”

  1. Gorgeous!!!
    I know what you mean about all the other loves!!
    YAY that you figured it out, and didn’t have to spend a lifetime cutting out tiny diamonds!!


Leave a Reply

